The Whole30: A 3-Week Recap

I am currently just past my third week of my fifth or sixth Whole30. The program is an excellent way to reset your diet and learn more about your body and how it reacts to certain foods. In fact, it’s how I learned I had food allergies at the age of 25 back in 2014. Previous Whole30s were challenging for me, especially after I had to permanently cut out certain foods from my diet (mainly beef and pork). I’ve been eating chicken and turkey, mixed in with the occasional fish, for two years now, and I’ve mostly gotten used to it. That has made this particular Whole30 a little easier.

I’m also a pro at reading labels now, which also helps. I know all the different, sneaky names they come up with for sugar (dextrose, sucralose, etc). I have also had the confidence to try new things on a more regular basis this time around. Although I have previously perfected homemade mayo (pro tip: use an immersion blender!), I shied away from things like homemade ranch–because I had no idea what “coconut cream” was–and clarified butter. Instead, I bought the outrageously expensive Ghee found at my local Dierbergs.

This time around, I finally bought some cans of coconut milk and stored them in my fridge. Lo and behold, the cream rises to the top–just like they said it would! (“They” being the lovely people behind The Whole30.) With that, I whipped up some homemade ranch, and it was more delicious than I thought was ever possible. My husband even liked it! I also finally decided it was time to try my hand at making clarified butter. The process is actually pretty simple. The most frustrating part is trying to skim the milk solids off the top after the butter melts. I’ve made it twice now, and both times I have felt like I didn’t quite get them all, which worries me that they’ll end up in my clarified butter thus making it non-Whole30 compliant.

I bought coconut flour for the first time and made some meatballs and paleo buffalo chicken nuggets. Those chicken nuggets are a little work, but totally worth it. In addition to my small victories in the kitchen, I’ve experienced one other non-scale victory so far, which is clearer skin. I haven’t noticed a major difference in how my clothes fit so far (so I may or may not be losing weight). I also haven’t experienced higher levels of energy or an easier time waking up like I have in the past. I partly blame the fact that I’m working a full-time job and a part-time job (both from home) and for the past week or so, that has meant working until 9 p.m. or later several nights a week.

I’ve also been struggling with a sore knee for the past week, which has made working out difficult. Unfortunately, I’m running a 5K this weekend and have not trained at all, so I’ll probably end up walking much of the hilly course. I’m hoping by the time the race rolls around my “tiger blood” will have kicked in and that will help get me through.

If you’ve never done a Whole30 (or if you’ve never even heard of it), I highly recommend checking out their website. You don’t need to read any of the books to do the 30-day reset, but It Starts with Food is a great place to start if you do want to learn more about the Whys of the program. They have several new and upcoming books out now as well. I’m hoping to buy Food Freedom Forever soon (and when I do, you can expect a thorough review!).

Thanks for reading! Come back next week for my complete 30-day recap!

-AB

Leave a Reply

