My First 5K in a Year

On Saturday I ran my first 5K–the annual Race to the Shrine in Florissant–in about a year. Thanks to illness and injury, I hadn’t done any of the training I had planned on doing since at least August. The good news is, I survived! Not only that, but I finished in 38 minutes. I can’t seem to find my time from last year’s race, but I think it was around the same. My pace was about 12 minutes/mile (I’m a super slow runner), and I unfortunately walked several times throughout the race.

img_1545

Our pre-race selfie.

My husband, Chris, agreed to run the race with me, but I started walking too early in the race for him, so he went on without me. I was kind of okay with that, because he was there with water when I crossed the finish line 😉 He ran the race in 31 minutes. He had to stop to walk one or two times too though. This route (and the city in general) are hilly, so that makes it a tougher race.

I felt so motivated after the race that I decided I want to sign up for one of the Turkey Trots taking place early on Thanksgiving morning. That gives me just a little over a month to train properly. I kicked my training off with a 2-mile run yesterday. Unfortunately, I ended up walking some of that too. I’m hopeful that if I keep training and keep eating right, eventually I’ll be able to run much more than I walk.

I ran the race with brand-new earbuds. I was a little nervous to be running with new earbuds, but they worked out. I recently purchased the Jaybird Sport X2 wireless earbuds (on sale!!) and they were great. I plan to write up a full review for you guys later this week, after I’ve got a couple more runs in with them. In short, they stayed put (which is a major hurdle for me), and they were wireless, so I didn’t have to worry about accidentally pulling on the wires.

Today I’m starting a new challenge. It’s call the Harder to Kill (HTK) Challenge by Stupid Easy Paleo’s Steph Gaudreau. It’s a six-week program that focuses on building strength, renewing energy, eating nourishing foods, and having a positive mindset. Today was the first day of the challenge, and we were instructed to create a pledge for the duration of the challenge. My pledge reads: Every day I will honor my body and treat myself with the love and respect I deserve

htk-social-square

I’m so excited to start this new journey. I think the strength training will perfectly complement my 5k training plans, so I’m hoping to get faster and stronger! I also want to focus on the energy and positive mindset. I have seriously been lacking in energy for several months now. Everything–even activities I enjoy–all feel so exhausting. I’d like to get back to a place where I have energy to get my work completed and still work out and do other activities at the end of the work day. As I’m on day 28 of my Whole30, I plan to mostly stick with those eating habits for the six weeks. The HTK does provide meal plans, but since I have food allergies, I will probably have to modify the meals.

I’m planning to write more on the HTK Challenge later this week as we get going with the program.

Anyone else out there training for an upcoming race or starting a health/fitness journey? I’d love to hear about it!

-AB

4 thoughts on “My First 5K in a Year

  1. Pingback: Review: Jaybird X2 Wireless Earbuds | Practical Paleo

  2. I’ve been running since September 10th after not running since 1997 in the Marines. I recently lost over 100 lbs, and I decided it was time to get fit. I am signed up for a 5k in December, and I’ve got my miles down to about 9:30. My goal is sub-9’s, but I’m not sure I’ll get there before the 5k. Maybe next year? lol. Don’t worry about your speed. You’re out there running, and that’s what matters. Keep at it, and the speed (if you want it) will come. So will the distance.

    Like

    • Thanks for the encouragement! I’ve been training for a race on Thanksgiving and my pace, although still slow, has improved quite a bit! I’ve been consistently running about 3 days a week and strength training the other 3, which seems to be helping a lot! Good luck with your race in December!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Turkey Trot Recap | Practical Paleo

Leave a Reply

