Review: Jaybird X2 Wireless Earbuds

Finally getting around to writing up my review of the Jaybird X2 Wireless Earbuds! The past two weeks have been crazy busy, but that gave me more time to test them out!

The package includes the headphones themselves. Also included are different sizes and types of earbud tips (foam or silicone). So far, I’ve only used the silicone tips. They also come with three different size “fins”, which fit over the earbud and help keep the buds secure in your ear. Then there’s a USB cable to charge them and clasps to make the wired portion adjustable.

Enter a caption


My first experience with them was running my first 5k of the year. I charged them up the night before the race, and then the next day, I tried them on. I thought for sure I would need the smallest silicone tips because I think earbuds are always too big for my ears. I ended up using the largest silicone tips though. Their instructions (which I found online after a little digging) recommend trying on all the sizes so you can get the right fit. I didn’t try any of the foam tips, though.

Next, I had to put the ear fins on. Even the smallest ear fins seemed too big. They really don’t fit my ears the way they show in pictures on the website. I have to sort of fold it up to get it to slide into place. While not uncomfortable, they don’t provide quite the level of security I was hoping they would.

I’ve had these earbuds for almost two weeks now, and I’ve worn them for about six runs total. They have not fallen out once, but I did have one run where they felt loose the entire time and I had to keep shoving them back in there. Aside from that, the earbuds have stayed put. I’m still getting used to the controls though. The instructions say to turn the headphones off, hold the middle button down for four seconds. Maybe I’m just a fast counter, but it’s usually more like six or seven seconds for me. I haven’t quite gotten around to figuring out how to skip songs, answer calls, etc. yet. Fortunately, I don’t typically need to answer a call during a run, and I’ve created some pretty good playlists, so I don’t usually need to skip any songs.

There is definitely a learning curve with these headphones, and they don’t “fit like a glove” the way I’d hoped. But after six runs and only one instance of them feeling loose (not actually falling out), I’d say these have been a good investment so far. The sound is great, there are no wires for me to accidentally pull on and rip the ear buds out of my ears, and so far, they’ve been comfortable. I may give the foam tips a try at some point just to compare fit.

Overall, I’m happy with my purchase, especially since I got them on sale! My only complaint is that the ear fins are still too big for my ears. If you have normal, non-toddler-sized ears, I would definitely recommend them!

Thanks as always for reading!

-AB

Leave a Reply

